Skip to Content
Events
this week
Discounts & Offers

Lyveden National Trust

Elizabethan lodge & moated garden

Tucked away in the heart of the Northamptonshire countryside lies a mysterious house and garden, a remarkable example of Renaissance design and craftsmanship. 

Begun by Sir Thomas Tresham in 1595 but never completed, Lyveden is a wonderful survivor of the Elizabethan age and a rare example of late Tudor landscape design. 

There are tranquil moats, viewing terraces and an Elizabethan orchard to explore, as well as an enigmatic garden lodge covered in religious symbols. 

Sir Thomas intended his garden and lodge to symbolise his devotion to the Catholic faith, but the full extent of Sir Thomas's symbolic design remains unexplained to this day. 

Our audio guide describes Sir Thomas’s dream and how it all ended in a nightmare for the Tresham family with their involvement in the Gunpowder Plot.

Contact & Opening Times

PE8 5AT

Lyveden New Bield, Lyveden, PE8 5AT

For opening time please visit the National Trust website or telephone 01832 205158.

Explore the area

Click the pins on the map to see other attractions nearby

Visitor Information & Facilities

  • Baby changing
  • Child friendly
  • Garden
  • Gift shop
  • Group tours
  • Pet friendly
  • Tea & cake

Similar places of interest

  • Once Elizabethan England’s largest and most glittering house, Holdenby subsequently became the Palace and then the prison of King Charles I. Today the house incorporates a wing of...

  • Boughton House, famous for its internationally renowned art collection, has been home to the Buccleuch family’s ancestors since 1528. The Tudor Manor House, built by Sir Edward...

  • Castle Ashby is the ancestral home of the 7th Marquess of Northampton. Wander through its gardens, open 365 days of the year, and you are taking a walk through history. Set in the heart...

Stay Social

Follow us on Instagram for what's here, what's on, news & events from our wonderful partners.

Your login details have been used by another user or machine. Login details can only be used once at any one time so you have therefore automatically been logged out. Please contact your sites administrator if you believe this other user or machine has unauthorised access.